top of page
Search

A detour toward Flash Fiction

Updated: Jul 28, 2023


I had a dream—a dream involving great things for a whole universe of characters across different dimensions. Sadly, the dream was too great for this world. I mourned the loss of The Enigma of the V, but there is good news even in such bleak times: Writing will go on! Not for The Enigma of the V but for other projects that came along to take its place.


I have started to write a few short stories on Vocal. None of them is anything close to fantasy. It's been quite refreshing to do something different from what I've been accustomed to (i.e., writing long stories with many chapters and a large number of characters). Flash fiction is a quite difficult sort of storytelling when you're like me and are accustomed to giving great depth to your characters (and like having a large number of characters also). It's been quite challenging to create these short stories. In fact, it's been so challenging that my first short story ended up splitting into two parts (just to say that I didn't go over the threshold of words that would exit the realm of flash fiction).


There are three short stories (four if you count the first one, which was a two-part story) that I've posted on Vocal. The last one, "Oliver's Nightmare," is a spinoff of the Sci-fi novel I started some time ago. I never finished that project, but this side story (which is canon to the unfinished novel, filling the gap of a time jump within chapter one) may be the nudge I need so I can continue and finish that novel. Seeing interest in the side story would definitely be an added bonus and a great motivator.


Flash fiction is only an exercise to keep me ready to write. I'm working on something else now, which is the true successor to The Enigma of the V. It's another fantasy story with an immersive world and interesting and compelling characters. Just completing the foundation of the plot and the main characters before I actually start writing it. Once I've made more progress on that front, I'll make a blog post to let you know all about it (without spoilers, of course).


I sure am glad I didn't name this blog "The Enigma of the V"... Jonkohrr's World still lives, people! Be prepared for some awesome stories. See you around!


You can read my short stories on Vocal. Here's the link to the first one (remember, this one's a two-part story!) https://vocal.media/fiction/paranoia-e513b0yr6

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page